For Middle grade (ages 8-12)

Whether you're looking for a family read-aloud, a parent-child book club choice, or the next great series to keep your elementary age reader turning the pages, Queen Anne Book Company has you covered with chapter book recommendations.

 

Staff Pick Logo
A Crack in the Sea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780399545191
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: G.P. Putnam's Sons Books for Young Readers - January 3rd, 2017

Here’s a book full of magic, history, pain, and hope. It’s the intertwining stories of Venus and Swimmer-- two magically-abled siblings who led their people to a new world generations ago; of Kinchen and Pip, also brother and sister, raised by kindly Old Ren on the island of Tanthenn, and how they become connected to young Caesar from Raftworld; and finally, of daydreaming Thanh and his responsible older sister, Sang, and how they venture away from Vietnam with their adopted Uncle Truc and his baby, along with Truc’s brother Uncle Hung and his child, Mai. Gorgeous writing, important themes, and stunning situations make this wonderful for sophisticated middle grade readers or a family read-aloud with ages 8+.


Staff Pick Logo
Newsprints Cover Image
By Ru Xu
$12.99
ISBN: 9780545803120
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Graphix - January 31st, 2017

How to describe this?? "NEWSIES" meets "Bladerunner"? It's original, atmospheric, and thought-provoking-- a great graphic novel for ages 9+. 


Staff Pick Logo
A Boy Called Bat Cover Image
By Elana K. Arnold, Charles Santoso (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062445827
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Walden Pond Press - March 14th, 2017

There’s something so refreshing about this tender, honest, sweet contemporary novel for elementary school-aged readers. Bat got his nickname from his initials (Bixby Alexander Tam), his sensitivity to noise, and the way he sometimes flaps his hands when he gets excited. This gentle story focuses on Bat’s quest to convince his mom to let him raise the orphaned baby skunk she saved. Readers can infer that Bat is on the autism spectrum, but the clear and empathetic narration proves that we can all relate to Bat. Animal lovers and kids who like realistic friendship and sibling stories will love this, and it would make a great read-aloud. Although the story is emotionally rich and the author uses some fantastic vocabulary, the font is comfortably large, and there are charming illustrations throughout, so it should appeal to a range of readers and listeners.


Staff Pick Logo
Frazzled: Everyday Disasters and Impending Doom Cover Image
By Booki Vivat, Booki Vivat (Illustrator)
$12.99
ISBN: 9780062398796
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins - September 27th, 2016

This fun, enjoyable, quick read has plenty of visual appeal, humor, and heart. It speaks to kids' fears without diminishing them. It shows disappointments and frustrations, and also how to overcome them. It would make a great discussion book-- accessible but chock full of topics.


Staff Pick Logo
Fenway and Hattie Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780147514905
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Puffin Books - January 3rd, 2017

*Spring Break Recommendation*

HILARIOUS! If you've ever had a dog, you will love Fenway the dog's narration. His enthusiasm, his desperate love for his girl, and his fierce protection against squirrels made me laugh out loud. And his point of view changes how we see moving, making friends, and growing up, too.
--Tegan


Staff Pick Logo
Murder Is Bad Manners Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481422130
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - April 26th, 2016

This is a fantastic classic British mystery for kids, with twists! I love the main character and the Holmes/Watson relationship with her best friend, Daisy. Great sleuthing, great historical British boarding school atmosphere, plus timeless friendship issues. --Tegan


Staff Pick Logo
Unusual Chickens for the Exceptional Poultry Farmer Cover Image
By Kelly Jones, Katie Kath (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780385755559
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - March 8th, 2016

Told in letters that are sometimes silly, sometimes sad, always sassy and so Sophie, this is a perfect chapter book! The main character has been uprooted from city life to live on a farm. How to cope with that and grieving her beloved Abuelita? Learn about chickens, write letters, and watch out for magic! I loved Sophie, her incredible chickens, and her openhearted, open-minded way of looking at the world. --Tegan


Staff Pick Logo
The League of Beastly Dreadfuls, Book 1 Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780385370103
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yearling Books - January 19th, 2016

Just enough creepy and plenty of hilarity! I loved the adventure and quirkiness. It reminds me of Roald Dahl but with a modern sensibility. It will make a fun family read-aloud. (I was hooked as soon as I learned the main character suffers from “tragic flatulence…”) --Tegan
 


Staff Pick Logo
Rooftoppers Cover Image
By Katherine Rundell, Terry Fan (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9781442490598
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - June 3rd, 2014

Completely charming! Sophie's adventures on the rooftops of Paris and her loving relationship with her eccentric guardian, Charles, captured my imagination and my heart. Fans of "Nancy and Plum" and "Leisel and Po" should love this, too. 

-Tegan 


Staff Pick Logo
Words in the Dust Cover Image
$6.99
ISBN: 9780545261265
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - September 24th, 2013

Don’t miss this if you enjoy novels about different cultures, if you love strong heroines, or if you are looking for a meaningful story. Reedy captures an Afghan girl’s dreams, fears, and determination. Ages 10+


Staff Pick Logo
Wonderstruck Cover Image
$29.99
ISBN: 9780545027892
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Scholastic Press - September 13th, 2011

Incredibly crafted and incredibly enjoyable. I can hardly believe it, but I liked it even better than Hugo Cabret. Selznick perfected the balance between wondrous illustration and written story. This is one to reread many times! Ages 8+


Staff Pick Logo
Zorgamazoo Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781595142955
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Razorbill - September 2nd, 2010

Imagine what you’d get if you crossed the Harry Potter books with Dr. Suess, and you’ll have some idea of the magical, wonderful, hilarious, whiz-bang creativity of this book. A perfect read-aloud for ages 8 and up, it’s so much more than great rhymes-- it’s an exciting, touching novel about the power of friendship, loyalty, creativity, and determination. Ages 8+


Staff Pick Logo
Liesl and Po Cover Image
By Lauren Oliver, Kei Acedera (Illustrator)
$6.99
ISBN: 9780062014528
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: HarperCollins Publishers - August 28th, 2012

A new chapter book that feels like a classic. Liesl is an orphan stuck in an attic by her evil stepmother. Po is a ghost-- the kind that comforts rather than scares. Their adventures form a story about love and the most powerful magic in the world. A treasure! Ages 8+


Staff Pick Logo
Under the Egg Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780803740013
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Dial Books - March 18th, 2014

This is a fantastic mystery set in today's New York City, but reaching back into history and across continents. Fun and exciting!


Staff Pick Logo
Framed! Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781481436311
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Aladdin Paperbacks - May 2nd, 2017

I love a great art heist mystery, and this is one! Perfect middle grade, with context about the art and its value, a thrilling mystery, empowered and bright kids, and even loving (if sometimes distracted) parents. Readers will want to start testing their own powers of deduction--and might look at art in a different way.


Staff Pick Logo
Gertie's Leap to Greatness Cover Image
By Kate Beasley, Jillian Tamaki (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780374302610
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux (Byr) - October 4th, 2016

From the first paragraph, I was Gertie's fan. Her gumption, her voice, her determination, and her sass jump off the page. Realistic social situations combine with over-the-top personalities to make GERTIE'S LEAP TO GREATNESS a sure-fire hit for kids loved Ramona and Fudge-- and who will one day want to be best friends with Scout. 

If your mission is to discover a funny, heartwarming, relatable, and entertaining middle grade novel, then jump for joy: Your mission is accomplished. Now dive in and see how Gertie does on hers.