Literature Lover recommendations

Shopping for someone who loves a good novel? We have picks for different tastes. 

Uncommon Type: Some Stories Cover Image
ISBN: 9781101946152
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Knopf Publishing Group - October 17th, 2017

Janis says: 

The multi-talented Tom Hanks can also write. Who knew? His friend Nora Ephron did, and backed him with editing and encouragement. The outcome is a collection of extremely engaging and charming short stories told by a master story teller. One of my favorites is set in the future with all of its efficiencies, yet the main character longs to go back to a simpler time; a time of heavy cream in your coffee, of knotted ties and home-baked pies, to the 1939 World Fair in New York City.  Perfect for an entertaining, quick escape read.

In the Midst of Winter Cover Image
ISBN: 9781501178139
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Atria Books - October 31st, 2017

Judy says

Allende is a master storyteller.This beautifully written novel brings together three very different people following a minor traffic accident in the middle of a Brooklyn snowstorm. There is history, mystery, tragedy and humor which makes Allende’s latest  novel one of my all time favorite reads.

The Living Infinite Cover Image
ISBN: 9781609454302
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Europa Editions - September 12th, 2017

Wendee says:

Fans of historical fiction will love this novel set in late 19th century Spain that tells the story of the real-life infanta Princess Eulalia, daughter of Isabel II. Bold and outspoken, Eulalia became a foreign emissary traveling to Cuba in the heat of the revolution and to America to the Chicago World’s Fair, where she hopes to find a publisher for her scandalous memoir. Fast-paced, full of adventure, and with a touch of romance.

Devotion (Why I Write) Cover Image
ISBN: 9780300218626
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Yale University Press - September 12th, 2017

Bailey says:

Slip into Smith’s morning cup of black coffee and taste her words. Her voice, as it has always done, will captivate. This is a very different piece of writing from Smith. She presents her first work of fiction, a small short story that takes the title and wraps it up in a speculation of creativity. Pair this little tale and eloquent invitation into her mind with a playlist of her legendary tunes!

A Gentleman in Moscow Cover Image
ISBN: 9780670026197
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Viking - September 6th, 2016

In 2016, Wendee said: The literary fiction knock-out of the year (in my humble opinion). Count Alexander Ilych Rostov is exiled by a Bolshevik tribunal to life in the world-class Metropol Hotel. Here Rostov makes a life so rich and full, the reader nearly forgets his exiled status. Each scene sparkles, and when strung together this book dazzles and entertains. Give it to Everyone.

Mara says: This is my favorite book handsdown this year. You might remember this author’s last title Rules of Civility (a wonderful book as well) well Towles does not disappoint here, in fact he steps it up a notch.

The Underground Railroad Cover Image
ISBN: 9780385542364
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Doubleday Books - August 2nd, 2016

In 2016, Janis said: An engaging, powerful story propelled by the lore of the underground railroad;in this scenario actual railways transport slaves away from the inhumanity of plantation life. A masterful, timely call for examination of prejudices in past and present. It also encourages awareness for present and future. For the reader of historical, literary, fable-like fiction. -Janis (Judy seconds!)

Your Heart Is a Muscle the Size of a Fist Cover Image
ISBN: 9780316386555
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Lee Boudreaux / Back Bay Books - October 18th, 2016

In 2016 Tegan said: Your Heart is a Muscle the Size of Your Fist by Sunil Yapa is a great paperback for fans of Jonathan Safran Foer, Dave Eggers, and edgy and socially-aware fiction. It’s a stunning novel set in Seattle during the WTO protests.  

The Other Einstein Cover Image
ISBN: 9781492647584
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Sourcebooks Landmark - August 29th, 2017

In 2016 Tegan said: Shopping for someone who loves historical fiction like Nancy Horan’s books and The Paris Wife? Choose this! Richly researched and imagined. It's told from the point of view of Einstein's first wife-- rich with themes of feminism and feminity, career vs. family, intellectual and physical passion, and identity.