The Twistrose Key (Paperback)

The Twistrose Key Cover Image
By Tone Almhjell, Ian Schoenherr (Illustrator)
$8.99
Usually Ships in 1-5 Days

 A magical adventure story set in a wintery world called Sylver, a place where every animal who was loved by a child finds a new life. I loved this book, it is one of my favorite reads of 2013. For middle readers and up.

— From Mara

Description


A captivating adventure story for fans of The Chronicles of Narnia and The Golden Compass.

Something is wrong in the house Lin's family rented. The clocks tick too slowly. Frost covers the flowerbed, even in a rain storm. And when a secret key marked "Twistrose" arrives for her, Lin finds in a crack in the cellar and unlocks a gate to the world of Sylver. This frozen realm is the home of every dead animal who ever loved a child. Lin is overjoyed to be reunited with Rufus, the pet she buried under the rosebush. But together they must find the missing Winter Prince in order to save Sylver from destruction...and they're not the only ones hunting for the Prince.
Exhilarating suspense and unforgettable characters await the readers of this magical adventure, destined to become a classic.


"This jewel of a story will capture your heart and your imagination...Readers should take their time and read with care to fully grasp and decipher the fresh mythology of the land of Sylver. It'll leave you gasping, laughing, and maybe shedding a tear or two." --The New York Journal of Books

"Beguiling."--New York Times Book Review

"This debut novel will captivate readers...Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them." --Kirkus Reviews, starred review

About the Author


Tone Almhjell received a master's degree in English Literature from the University of Oslo and worked as a journalist before deciding to write fiction full-time. She lives in Oslo, Norway with her two wonderfully stubborn kids, a boy and a girl. The Twistrose Key is her debut novel.

Praise For…


Rave reviews for The Twistrose Key

“Beguiling.” —New York Times Book Review

“This debut novel will captivate readers…Fantasy that evokes the classics of yore and stands proudly among them.” —Kirkus Reviews, starred review

“This book is pure magic. I want to live in it.” —Laini Taylor, author of the Daughter of Smoke & Bone trilogy
 
“This debut novel has Narnian charm and troll-fire high adventure. I’ve never read anything quite like it, and I hope Tone Almhjell writes many more books for me to fall in love with.” —Erin Bow, author of Plain Kate
 
“Her story feels complete even as the world of Sylver contains enough unexplored territory to invite subsequent volumes.” —Publishers Weekly

Product Details
ISBN: 9780142423455
ISBN-10: 0142423459
Publisher: Puffin Books
Publication Date: September 2nd, 2014
Pages: 384
Language: English